Can We Recover?


I find myself wondering this all the time as it has to do with the economy.  First we had defective healthcare.  Now we seem to have defective everything.

Sadly a lot of folks are like me, I think.  They understand we’re screwed, but they don’t have the magical answers nor do they have the political knowledge to suggest new approaches.  I know I certainly don’t. 

But what about the people who DO?   Which is more important, really?  Who is on top and in charge or who isn’t on top but doing everything in their power to hamstring the guy who IS?   And in the meantime we sink deeper and deeper and deeper into economic crisis.

Or so it seems to this peon.   I’m one of the middle class.  I work two jobs and still barely keep my head above water while meanwhile it seems Comcast, and T-Mobile and PUD (now wanting to raise rates even higher) and my bank and on and on and ON, are doing all they can do to find some excuse to tack on additional fees.  I often write President Obama my concerns only to get form letters back.  At lease President Clinton’s responses seemed a tiny bit more like some thought went into them.

Let’s see.  I’ve paid into Social Security, into my security when I retire, since age 15 and not voluntarily either.  Um…if Social Security goes away, how will I be taken care of when I retire?  Where is my money taken from my pay check and when will I see any of it when it’s my turn to really need it?

Why are men and women who have been working hard their whole life living in homeless shelters or on the street because our nation doesn’t care for our own elderly?  Doesn’t even provide them decent healthcare?

Call me crazy, but I personally think the elderly should not have to pay for healthcare, period.  Why?  Because it’s only right, that’s why.  Older people worked hard in their day.  It seems to me there should be some kind of nice stress-free existence for them when they can finally stop and oh, I don’t know, live???   Of all the countries in all the world THIS one, the US, puts less time and effort into educating kids, and demands more time from its employees, allowing less time for vacation, holidays, or rests during the day.  All we do in this country is work, and contrary to international myth, Americans aren’t rich.  It costs a lot to live here and most of us work two jobs anymore just to survive, nevermind having that second job for “pocket-money.”

I remember when having a second job was an option.  It’s really not anymore.   Cost of everything is going up faster than what I earn.

Here’s a question.   If our lovely Republican party managed to drive the deficit through the rafters with their unnecessary war, and President Obama only made it worse with his attempts to kick-start the economy again,  how do we make our country ours again, instead of land we’re borrowing from China?   How do we pay that deficit down?   Do we demand home owners no longer get the tax break for having that home?   Strike a huge blow against the already crippled housing market?  Do we rob billions of people of their income tax returns and try to get it that way?   Do we take another $40 from each person’s paycheck?  Or hey, how about that billionaire with his fleet of cars and boats and his huge mansion and so much money he makes in a half a day what I make in a year–probably more?   All those riches he has, people like Trump and Bill Gates.  Even with effort if he worked really hard to spend every moment from now until death, he would still have millions left–or at least some of these ultra rich would?

It floors me that they get a tax break?  Hello?   If they love this country, why not ask them to give up stuff?  They can afford to, where as the 99% of the rest of us cannot.   Why squeeze more blood from the little guy, and drive more of us into losing our jobs, our homes, or suicide?

I’m just saying.

And then we have the obesity problem in this country.   Ever notice how the junk food, and the crap, and the pre-made meals with tons of sodium and preservatives, are less expensive than say, oh I don’t know, milk, eggs, meat, fish, chicken, VEGETABLES, FRUIT, etc?  Eat healthy?   And how shall we pay for healthier food?     Really, it’s very nice that places like MacDonalds are providing healthier options on their menu, but have you noticed the prices?

I could go on and on with my rant.  There are so many little things. Like the busing system in Washington State.  Hmmm… fares keep going up and services are being cut left and right.  There are less buses running less frequently and never on time, and when customers call they get attitude–really the whole concept of customer service is going extinct.   Or how about all that aid that sure seems to be readily given to immigrants but not to people in trouble who were born here and worked here all our lives? 

Can’t it just be required that new US Citizens learn the national language?    And what about reverse discrimination?  I am seeing it ALL the time.   On Walmart applications (and many others) it specifically asks if I am of hispanic descent.  Why should that matter?   Do companies get some kind of perks for hiring minorities?  That doesn’t seem fair to all the rest of us barely making it.  Would my chances of getting an interview be better if I were hispanic?   Something tells me the big answer to that question is YES.

The whole thing’s just scary.  In more than one way I feel like we’re losing our country as we face down another election.  Honestly, I don’t see one person that I have faith can be effective to really help our nation, one person I feel enthused about voting for.  And the ones we do vote for (popular vote) don’t get elected anyway, and/or as soon as they do they cave to the pressure of big government and become yet another puppet dancing on strings.

Leave a Reply

